BRISCOE CATARINA SOUTH

Operated by JAVELIN ENERGY PARTNERS MGMT LLC (P-5 100351) in the BRISCOE RANCH (EAGLEFORD) field. Every figure below is a volume the Railroad Commission published, multiplied by a monthly price you can check.

Oil lease lease 20956District 01Field 12018200Hydrogen sulphide fieldST-1 filingOilCasinghead gasSaveExport
Value, all time
$172.1 M
Jan 2023 – May 2026
Value, last 12 filed months
$86.0 M
at the published price for each month
Months reported
41
no gaps in the span
Streams
2
oil, casinghead gas

The Railroad Commission's own record for the field this lease produces from, including the spacing rule that governs how close together its wells may be drilled.

These are facts about the field, not about this lease. The field holds 5,584 leases and 8,017 wells, and the rule below applies to all of them.

Discovered
2007-11-05
as the register files it
Field class
Oil and gas
the register's own label
Between wells
0 ft
minimum
From a lease line
330 ft
minimum

A drilling unit in this field needs at least 40 acres. The field rule took effect on 2013-04-09.

The register flags this field for hydrogen sulphide. That is a poisonous gas that occurs naturally in some formations. The flag is a property of the field as the Commission records it. It is not a measurement taken at this lease, and it is not a statement that gas is escaping anywhere.

The Commission's schedule remark for this field reads: “MAY ELECT TO CLASSIFY AS PERMANENT GAS WELL”

Severance-tax incentive filings

Applications the operator filed to have this lease's gas taxed at a reduced state rate. A filing is an application, and this page never calls one a reduction that was granted.

ProgrammeFilingsWith an approval dateDatedDocket
ST-110none—10 dockets

This says nothing about a royalty. A severance tax is charged to the operator. Whether a reduced rate reaches a royalty owner depends on the wording of the lease instrument, which is a private contract this site does not hold.

What this lease produced, and what it was worth

Oil and condensate are valued on the volume the state records as disposed of; gas and casinghead gas on the volume produced. They are different columns of different files, and the difference is not cosmetic.

StreamBasisVolumeValue
OilDisposition2,065,881 bbl$147,929,969
Casinghead gasProduction7,754,221 Mcf$24,203,127
Total$172,133,096

Wells on this lease (17)

Every wellbore the Railroad Commission records against this lease key, with the depth, the last completion and the plug date exactly as filed. A well with no plug date is not stated to be producing — the state files no such flag.

These wells centre on 28.2148, -99.8932. A lease has no coordinate of its own — that point is the mean of its wells, and they span 3.0 miles.

28.21576, -99.88536 · centre of the wells drawn, derived

What these wells add up to

Every figure below is counted over all of this lease's wells, not over the rows listed above. The Railroad Commission files two facts about a well's state — a plug date and a proration-schedule flag — and a well can carry both, so they are published as separate counts and never merged into a status.

On the schedule
0.0%
0 of 17 wells
With a plug date
0.0%
0 of 17 wells
Median depth
7,500 ft
17 wells filed one
Completion to plug
—
no well filed both dates

What the state filed about each well

On the RRC proration schedule
00.0%
A plug date is filed
00.0%
BothOn the schedule and plugged. Neither fact cancels the other.
00.0%
NeitherNo plug date, and not on the schedule.
17100.0%

A plug date is the date the Commission recorded the wellbore as sealed with cement and abandoned. It is the only end-of-life fact Texas files. There is no "active" flag on a well, so this page does not print one — a well with no plug date is not stated to be producing.

How deep they were drilled

Total depth in feet, 17 of 17 wells. Median 7,500 ft, with the middle half between 7,479 and 7,719 ft; the shallowest is 7,288 ft and the deepest 7,755 ft. The median is published rather than the mean, because a single mis-keyed depth moves a mean and cannot move a median.

When they were last completed

Last completion by decade, 17 of 17 wells, Sep 2023 – Oct 2025. This is the LAST completion filed on each wellbore, not the first — a well recompleted in 2019 counts once, in the 2010s.

Completions filed
Sep 2023 – Oct 2025
17 of 17 wells

17 wells

42-12738992102HC7,512 ftOct 2025——
42-12738993102HD7,497 ftOct 2025——
42-12738991102HB7,492 ftOct 2025——
42-12738990102HA7,504 ftOct 2025——
42-12738998103HD7,500 ftOct 2025——
42-12738997103HC7,480 ftOct 2025——
42-12738996103HB7,476 ftOct 2025——
42-12738995103HA7,479 ftOct 2025——
42-12738867101HZ7,726 ftSep 2024——
42-12738865101HX7,727 ftApr 2024——
42-12738866101HY7,719 ftApr 2024——
42-1273852027HX7,627 ftOct 2023——
42-1273852127HD7,288 ftOct 2023——
42-1273852227HY7,746 ftSep 2023——
42-1273852427HW7,755 ftSep 2023——
42-1273852527HC7,302 ftSep 2023——
42-1273852627HA7,304 ftSep 2023——

The API number is the state's, prefixed 42 for Texas. A well is matched to this lease by the lease key the Commission files on the wellbore record, so a well that has moved between leases appears under each one it was filed against.

Leases whose centres are nearest (385)

Ranked by the distance between lease centres, within 5 miles. A lease has no coordinate the state files — each centre is the mean of that lease's own wells, so this measures how far apart two centres are and not whether the two leases touch.

LeaseOperatorCentres apart
BRISCOEENERGYQUEST II, LLC0.09 mi
BRISCOEFLINT OAK ENERGY, LLC0.38 mi
BRISCOEFLINT OAK ENERGY, LLC0.40 mi
BRISCOEFLINT OAK ENERGY, LLC0.42 mi
BRISCOEFLINT OAK ENERGY, LLC0.52 mi
BRISCOEFLINT OAK ENERGY, LLC0.73 mi
BRISCOEFLINT OAK ENERGY, LLC0.75 mi
BRISCOEFLINT OAK ENERGY, LLC0.87 mi
BRISCOEFLINT OAK ENERGY, LLC0.94 mi
BRISCOE CATARINA SOUTHJAVELIN ENERGY PARTNERS MGMT LLC0.96 mi

The 10 nearest are listed. 385 leases in all have a centre within 5 miles of this one.

Operators who reported on those leases

Taken from the same 5-mile set above. This is who filed production, not who holds acreage — the state publishes no acreage register.

Every month this lease reported (41)

Volume × price = value, one row per cycle. The price columns are the same series published on the prices page — nothing here is modelled.

41 months

May 202660,508239,712106.413.05$7,168,781
Apr 202658,276232,42598.932.87$6,432,239
Mar 202666,900257,65189.753.15$6,815,731
Feb 202663,232227,21563.503.75$4,867,361
Jan 202677,444273,06359.138.00$6,763,200
Dec 202583,496292,60056.664.41$6,022,233
Nov 202590,351309,06658.593.93$6,507,194
Oct 202589,121289,51059.383.30$6,248,789
Sep 202599,707315,61862.743.08$7,226,749
Aug 2025122,945373,20663.933.01$8,985,000
Jul 2025130,641387,19966.743.32$10,002,622
Jun 2025117,704365,28366.483.13$8,967,830
May 202559,194205,46360.553.23$4,248,319
Apr 20252,42816,18262.363.54$208,745
Mar 202510,55155,01667.704.27$949,129
Feb 202524,638125,34470.884.34$2,290,440
Jan 202530,191150,18474.324.28$2,886,384
Dec 202434,099170,94368.993.12$2,886,066
Nov 202436,670181,09069.052.20$2,930,179
Oct 202443,012198,36871.372.28$3,522,323
Sep 202435,919174,69369.612.36$2,913,359
Aug 202453,937236,10675.632.06$4,566,491
Jul 202457,512228,16379.932.15$5,086,707
Jun 202456,173226,02578.082.63$4,981,333
May 202455,941233,54278.812.20$4,922,138
Apr 202417,81895,40384.451.66$1,663,023
Mar 202416,10197,79580.301.55$1,444,016
Feb 202420,567116,43176.091.78$1,772,614
Jan 202424,747139,90273.023.30$2,268,375
Dec 202330,286178,55771.262.61$2,624,343
Nov 202338,617196,15877.892.81$3,558,603
Oct 202339,355158,48185.443.09$3,851,766
Sep 202329,557106,53189.042.74$2,923,122
Aug 202339,279128,16880.522.67$3,505,323
Jul 202336,748114,49574.852.64$3,053,061
Jun 202336,159114,77368.962.26$2,752,737
May 202341,308125,98270.622.23$3,197,783
Apr 202346,389140,60378.122.24$3,938,544
Mar 202357,309178,81172.852.39$4,602,884
Feb 202330,57096,45275.112.47$2,533,932
Jan 20234812,01276.533.39$43,627

How to read this page

The arithmetic is one multiplication per stream per month. Here it is, worked, on a real row from the table above.

May 2026 — as filed, then multipliedworked
Oil               60,508 bbl  × $106.41 = $6,438,656
Casinghead gas   239,712 Mcf  × $  3.05 =   $730,124

────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Month total                               $7,168,781

The volumes are the state's, unchanged

Every barrel and every Mcf on this page is a number the Railroad Commission of Texas published in its monthly production query. Nothing is modelled, estimated or filled in.

The dollars are a multiplication, not a valuation

Volume × a published monthly price. It is not what the operator was paid: it takes no account of a contract, a differential, a transportation deduction, or the share any one owner holds.

Oil and gas are priced differently

Oil is a Texas realisation — the crude oil first purchase price. Gas is a benchmark, because no free Texas wellhead gas series exists at any date. The prices page publishes the difference rather than correcting it away.

A lease is not a well

The state reports oil on lease and gas on well, and this page is the lease grain. 01/O/20956 is the state's own key, not one this site invented.