SAN CHRISTOVAL

Operated by BURLINGTON RESOURCES O & G CO LP (P-5 109333) in the SUGARKANE (EAGLE FORD) field. Every figure below is a volume the Railroad Commission published, multiplied by a monthly price you can check.

Oil lease lease 12939District 02Field 86950600Hydrogen sulphide fieldOilCasinghead gasSaveExport
Value, all time
$283.8 M
Oct 2024 – May 2026
Value, last 12 filed months
$147.7 M
at the published price for each month
Months reported
20
no gaps in the span
Streams
2
oil, casinghead gas

The Railroad Commission's own record for the field this lease produces from, including the spacing rule that governs how close together its wells may be drilled.

These are facts about the field, not about this lease. The field holds 1,993 leases and 2,259 wells, and the rule below applies to all of them.

Discovered
2009-12-01
as the register files it
Field class
Oil and gas
the register's own label
Between wells
0 ft
minimum
From a lease line
330 ft
minimum

A drilling unit in this field needs at least 80 acres. The field rule took effect on 2017-10-10.

The register flags this field for hydrogen sulphide. That is a poisonous gas that occurs naturally in some formations. The flag is a property of the field as the Commission records it. It is not a measurement taken at this lease, and it is not a statement that gas is escaping anywhere.

The Commission's schedule remark for this field reads: “GAS WELLS”

What this lease produced, and what it was worth

Oil and condensate are valued on the volume the state records as disposed of; gas and casinghead gas on the volume produced. They are different columns of different files, and the difference is not cosmetic.

StreamBasisVolumeValue
OilDisposition3,474,529 bbl$237,511,743
Casinghead gasProduction12,854,783 Mcf$46,287,563
Total$283,799,306

Wells on this lease (14)

Every wellbore the Railroad Commission records against this lease key, with the depth, the last completion and the plug date exactly as filed. A well with no plug date is not stated to be producing — the state files no such flag.

These wells centre on 28.7388, -98.0471. A lease has no coordinate of its own — that point is the mean of its wells, and they span 1.0 miles.

28.73845, -98.04673 · centre of the wells drawn, derived

What these wells add up to

Every figure below is counted over all of this lease's wells, not over the rows listed above. The Railroad Commission files two facts about a well's state — a plug date and a proration-schedule flag — and a well can carry both, so they are published as separate counts and never merged into a status.

On the schedule
0.0%
0 of 14 wells
With a plug date
0.0%
0 of 14 wells
Median depth
11,872 ft
14 wells filed one
Completion to plug
—
no well filed both dates

What the state filed about each well

On the RRC proration schedule
00.0%
A plug date is filed
00.0%
BothOn the schedule and plugged. Neither fact cancels the other.
00.0%
NeitherNo plug date, and not on the schedule.
14100.0%

A plug date is the date the Commission recorded the wellbore as sealed with cement and abandoned. It is the only end-of-life fact Texas files. There is no "active" flag on a well, so this page does not print one — a well with no plug date is not stated to be producing.

How deep they were drilled

Total depth in feet, 14 of 14 wells. Median 11,872 ft, with the middle half between 11,837 and 11,903 ft; the shallowest is 11,782 ft and the deepest 11,980 ft. The median is published rather than the mean, because a single mis-keyed depth moves a mean and cannot move a median.

When they were last completed

Last completion by decade, 14 of 14 wells, Jan 2026. This is the LAST completion filed on each wellbore, not the first — a well recompleted in 2019 counts once, in the 2010s.

Completions filed
Jan 2026
14 of 14 wells

14 wells

42-25537918811,832 ftJan 2026——
42-25537919911,925 ftJan 2026——
42-255379211111,964 ftJan 2026——
42-255379221211,881 ftJan 2026——
42-255379231311,980 ftJan 2026——
42-255379241411,910 ftJan 2026——
42-25537911111,852 ftJan 2026——
42-25537912211,785 ftJan 2026——
42-255379201011,874 ftJan 2026——
42-25537913311,870 ftJan 2026——
42-25537914411,782 ftJan 2026——
42-25537915511,879 ftJan 2026——
42-25537916611,807 ftJan 2026——
42-25537917711,865 ftJan 2026——

The API number is the state's, prefixed 42 for Texas. A well is matched to this lease by the lease key the Commission files on the wellbore record, so a well that has moved between leases appears under each one it was filed against.

Leases whose centres are nearest (546)

Ranked by the distance between lease centres, within 5 miles. A lease has no coordinate the state files — each centre is the mean of that lease's own wells, so this measures how far apart two centres are and not whether the two leases touch.

LeaseOperatorCentres apart
SAN CHRISTOVAL RANCH UNIT CMARATHON OIL EF LLC0.01 mi
SAN CHRISTOVAL RANCH UNIT CMARATHON OIL EF LLC0.19 mi
SAN CHRISTOVAL RANCH UNIT C-G SAMARATHON OIL EF LLC0.23 mi
SAN CHRISTOVAL RANCH UNIT CMARATHON OIL EF LLC0.24 mi
SAN CHRISTOVAL RANCH UNIT GMARATHON OIL EF LLC0.28 mi
SAN CHRISTOVAL RANCH UNIT GMARATHON OIL EF LLC0.30 mi
SAN CHRISTOVAL RANCH UNIT G ACMARATHON OIL EF LLC0.30 mi
SAN CHRISTOVAL RANCH UNIT GMARATHON OIL EF LLC0.31 mi
SAN CHRISTOVAL RANCH UNIT GMARATHON OIL EF LLC0.31 mi
SAN CHRISTOVAL RANCH UNIT GMARATHON OIL EF LLC0.32 mi

The 10 nearest are listed. 546 leases in all have a centre within 5 miles of this one.

Operators who reported on those leases

Taken from the same 5-mile set above. This is who filed production, not who holds acreage — the state publishes no acreage register.

Every month this lease reported (20)

Volume × price = value, one row per cycle. The price columns are the same series published on the prices page — nothing here is modelled.

20 months

May 202694,407475,865106.413.05$11,495,258
Apr 2026107,086515,76198.932.87$12,074,108
Mar 2026107,720519,02789.753.15$11,302,514
Feb 2026116,448541,75463.503.75$9,426,199
Jan 2026120,682568,49259.138.00$11,682,680
Dec 2025125,959548,32556.664.41$9,556,793
Nov 2025143,883627,10658.593.93$10,892,399
Oct 2025161,729678,18559.383.30$11,844,761
Sep 2025161,787658,90462.743.08$12,177,911
Aug 2025176,063710,12063.933.01$13,396,549
Jul 2025213,533858,29566.743.32$17,096,612
Jun 2025213,161821,68366.483.13$16,741,759
May 2025235,153864,46560.553.23$17,032,742
Apr 2025221,678769,51762.363.54$16,550,331
Mar 2025229,156770,28767.704.27$18,801,693
Feb 2025188,541606,18470.884.34$15,995,134
Jan 2025207,881624,79174.324.28$18,122,997
Dec 2024219,212604,30268.993.12$17,009,686
Nov 2024241,167641,00469.052.20$18,061,790
Oct 2024189,283450,71671.372.28$14,537,391

How to read this page

The arithmetic is one multiplication per stream per month. Here it is, worked, on a real row from the table above.

May 2026 — as filed, then multipliedworked
Oil               94,407 bbl  × $106.41 = $10,045,849
Casinghead gas   475,865 Mcf  × $  3.05 = $1,449,409

────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Month total                              $11,495,258

The volumes are the state's, unchanged

Every barrel and every Mcf on this page is a number the Railroad Commission of Texas published in its monthly production query. Nothing is modelled, estimated or filled in.

The dollars are a multiplication, not a valuation

Volume × a published monthly price. It is not what the operator was paid: it takes no account of a contract, a differential, a transportation deduction, or the share any one owner holds.

Oil and gas are priced differently

Oil is a Texas realisation — the crude oil first purchase price. Gas is a benchmark, because no free Texas wellhead gas series exists at any date. The prices page publishes the difference rather than correcting it away.

A lease is not a well

The state reports oil on lease and gas on well, and this page is the lease grain. 02/O/12939 is the state's own key, not one this site invented.