UNIVERSITY 20 PW UNIT

Operated by PDEH LLC (P-5 646827) in the PHANTOM (WOLFCAMP) field. Every figure below is a volume the Railroad Commission published, multiplied by a monthly price you can check.

Oil lease lease 44020District 08Field 71052900Hydrogen sulphide fieldOilCasinghead gasSaveExport
Value, all time
$363.5 M
Jun 2013 – Mar 2023
Value, last 12 filed months
$32.7 M
at the published price for each month
Months reported
118
no gaps in the span
Streams
2
oil, casinghead gas

The Railroad Commission's own record for the field this lease produces from, including the spacing rule that governs how close together its wells may be drilled.

These are facts about the field, not about this lease. The field holds 7,755 leases and 10,539 wells, and the rule below applies to all of them.

Discovered
1983-06-23
as the register files it
Field class
Oil and gas
the register's own label
Between wells
0 ft
minimum
From a lease line
330 ft
minimum

A drilling unit in this field needs at least 20 acres. The field rule took effect on 2017-08-01.

The register flags this field for hydrogen sulphide. That is a poisonous gas that occurs naturally in some formations. The flag is a property of the field as the Commission records it. It is not a measurement taken at this lease, and it is not a statement that gas is escaping anywhere.

The Commission's schedule remark for this field reads: “FOR THE FOLLOWING API 389-37515.”

What this lease produced, and what it was worth

Oil and condensate are valued on the volume the state records as disposed of; gas and casinghead gas on the volume produced. They are different columns of different files, and the difference is not cosmetic.

StreamBasisVolumeValue
OilDisposition5,938,765 bbl$340,408,565
Casinghead gasProduction7,301,469 Mcf$23,083,909
Total$363,492,474

Wells on this lease (30)

Every wellbore the Railroad Commission records against this lease key, with the depth, the last completion and the plug date exactly as filed. A well with no plug date is not stated to be producing — the state files no such flag.

These wells centre on 31.6912, -103.3134. A lease has no coordinate of its own — that point is the mean of its wells, and they span 7.8 miles.

31.69594, -103.32450 · centre of the wells drawn, derived

What these wells add up to

Every figure below is counted over all of this lease's wells, not over the rows listed above. The Railroad Commission files two facts about a well's state — a plug date and a proration-schedule flag — and a well can carry both, so they are published as separate counts and never merged into a status.

On the schedule
6.7%
2 of 30 wells
With a plug date
0.0%
0 of 30 wells
Median depth
11,956 ft
30 wells filed one
Completion to plug
—
no well filed both dates

What the state filed about each well

On the RRC proration schedule
26.7%
A plug date is filed
00.0%
BothOn the schedule and plugged. Neither fact cancels the other.
00.0%
NeitherNo plug date, and not on the schedule.
2893.3%

A plug date is the date the Commission recorded the wellbore as sealed with cement and abandoned. It is the only end-of-life fact Texas files. There is no "active" flag on a well, so this page does not print one — a well with no plug date is not stated to be producing.

How deep they were drilled

Total depth in feet, 30 of 30 wells. Median 11,956 ft, with the middle half between 11,732 and 12,019 ft; the shallowest is 235 ft and the deepest 12,132 ft. The median is published rather than the mean, because a single mis-keyed depth moves a mean and cannot move a median.

When they were last completed

Last completion by decade, 30 of 30 wells, Feb 2013 – Apr 2021. This is the LAST completion filed on each wellbore, not the first — a well recompleted in 2019 counts once, in the 2010s.

Completions filed
Feb 2013 – Apr 2021
30 of 30 wells

30 wells

42-495345503909H11,760 ftApr 2021——
42-495345713911H11,831 ftApr 2021——
42-495345513910H235 ftMar 2021——
42-495344483908H11,850 ftDec 2020——
42-495344493906H11,780 ftDec 2020——
42-495344542708H12,034 ftNov 2020——
42-495343991009H12,110 ftMar 2020——
42-495344041010H12,132 ftMar 2020——
42-495341752701H11,991 ftJun 2019——
42-495341692706H12,018 ftJun 2019——
42-495341702704H12,046 ftJun 2019——
42-495341742703H11,950 ftJun 2019——
42-495339933903H11,582 ftMar 2019——
42-495339943905H12,054 ftMar 2019——
42-495340043902H11,967 ftMar 2019——
42-495340063904H11,728 ftMar 2019——
42-495338901007H12,043 ftJul 2018——
42-495338911002H12,000 ftJul 2018——
42-495338921003H12,041 ftJul 2018——
42-495338891005H4,996 ftMar 2018——
42-301329372003H11,962 ftMar 2018——
42-495336603302H7,106 ftSep 2017—Yes
42-495337051503H11,990 ftOct 2016——
42-301329382004H11,967 ftSep 2016——
42-301327400403H12,019 ftMar 2016——
42-301326091803H11,888 ftFeb 2016——
42-495335441001H11,658 ftJul 2014——
42-301318470702H11,645 ftJun 2013—Yes
42-301317940503H11,744 ftJun 2013——
42-301317882002H11,582 ftFeb 2013——

The API number is the state's, prefixed 42 for Texas. A well is matched to this lease by the lease key the Commission files on the wellbore record, so a well that has moved between leases appears under each one it was filed against.

Leases whose centres are nearest (415)

Ranked by the distance between lease centres, within 5 miles. A lease has no coordinate the state files — each centre is the mean of that lease's own wells, so this measures how far apart two centres are and not whether the two leases touch.

LeaseOperatorCentres apart
UL 20 SPINNER DPDEH LLC0.20 mi
UL 20 SPINNER CPDEH LLC0.22 mi
UL 20 POPPIN CORK FPDEH LLC0.22 mi
UL 20 POPPIN CORK JPDEH LLC0.23 mi
UL 20 SPINNER BPDEH LLC0.28 mi
UL 20 POPPIN CORK EPDEH LLC0.35 mi
UNIVERSITY 20SHELL WESTERN E&P0.37 mi
UL 20 SPINNER APDEH LLC0.37 mi
UNIVERSITY FIJI 20-27EOG RESOURCES, INC.0.43 mi
UL 20 POPPIN CORK IPDEH LLC0.43 mi

The 10 nearest are listed. 415 leases in all have a centre within 5 miles of this one.

Operators who reported on those leases

Taken from the same 5-mile set above. This is who filed production, not who holds acreage — the state publishes no acreage register.

Every month this lease reported (118)

Volume × price = value, one row per cycle. The price columns are the same series published on the prices page — nothing here is modelled.

118 months

Mar 20230072.852.39$0
Feb 20230075.112.47$0
Jan 20230076.533.39$0
Dec 20220076.415.73$0
Nov 20220085.005.65$0
Oct 20220087.185.86$0
Sep 20220084.888.16$0
Aug 20220094.529.13$0
Jul 202269,94175,868101.587.54$7,676,809
Jun 202266,25475,554115.097.98$8,227,882
May 202275,29184,135109.378.43$8,944,090
Apr 202271,10570,928104.226.84$7,895,540
Mar 202277,689102,788108.885.08$8,980,571
Feb 202272,98796,64191.054.86$7,115,030
Jan 202282,388105,39081.844.54$7,220,860
Dec 202177,58997,08771.323.90$5,912,201
Nov 202179,06195,39877.435.24$6,621,278
Oct 202182,849100,48479.795.71$7,184,674
Sep 202180,29299,83369.865.35$6,143,398
Aug 202198,864128,96866.024.22$7,071,322
Jul 2021117,286145,95670.783.98$8,882,712
Jun 2021119,731154,11169.493.38$8,841,098
May 2021137,600177,21463.483.02$9,269,621
Apr 202191,998115,03760.362.76$5,870,320
Mar 2021117,415142,98161.302.72$7,586,010
Feb 202186,444109,19457.805.55$5,602,266
Jan 2021132,495138,45750.412.81$7,068,175
Dec 2020133,029158,75044.642.68$6,363,144
Nov 2020110,261133,91238.772.71$4,637,261
Oct 202096,193121,90436.972.48$3,858,386
Sep 202098,296129,68837.091.99$3,904,013
Aug 2020115,692152,08639.982.39$4,988,106
Jul 2020120,966155,00738.371.83$4,924,372
Jun 2020124,946166,96534.901.69$4,642,838
May 2020113,500152,20716.921.81$2,196,638
Apr 2020139,124182,99614.751.80$2,382,273
Mar 2020164,103222,35930.341.86$5,391,634
Feb 2020112,019142,33249.881.98$5,869,420
Jan 2020133,513171,61757.252.09$8,003,112
Dec 2019137,953171,40959.012.30$8,535,595
Nov 2019142,307179,18655.302.75$8,362,464
Oct 2019145,316191,54553.472.42$8,233,306
Sep 2019132,980186,29455.052.66$7,815,584
Aug 2019168,340164,90253.112.30$9,320,531
Jul 2019205,499241,91356.272.46$12,158,549
Jun 2019177,985210,49152.782.49$9,918,423
May 2019152,720177,38258.482.74$9,417,149
Apr 2019161,854180,65862.632.75$10,633,852
Mar 201957,95165,43156.803.06$3,491,973
Feb 201953,25264,26550.852.79$2,887,306
Jan 201967,95580,61546.033.23$3,388,208
Dec 201868,62677,11846.594.19$3,520,058
Nov 201878,38580,81452.934.24$4,491,346
Oct 201884,779103,98461.443.40$5,562,168
Sep 201884,763105,73259.543.11$5,375,404
Aug 2018111,627145,92159.403.07$7,078,119
Jul 2018105,949133,24265.142.93$7,292,167
Jun 201832,71545,45160.183.08$2,108,638
May 201855,22966,88565.382.90$3,804,892
Apr 201848,91064,18763.842.90$3,308,608
Mar 201830,99231,31961.222.79$1,984,611
Feb 201820,25221,77461.782.77$1,311,398
Jan 201811,91811,26462.874.01$794,446
Dec 201724,73027,09457.272.92$1,495,443
Nov 201726,99526,66255.423.12$1,579,205
Oct 201745,72445,98349.292.98$2,390,935
Sep 201729,90233,79547.523.09$1,525,278
Aug 201727,43435,21745.373.00$1,350,487
Jul 201739,62853,43643.873.09$1,903,452
Jun 201725,00931,55642.493.09$1,160,055
May 201732,60637,61645.373.26$1,602,090
Apr 201731,76336,67547.933.21$1,640,186
Mar 201736226146.772.98$17,709
Feb 20171,8382,36850.452.95$99,719
Jan 20171,5293,11549.413.42$86,197
Dec 20161,2643,66848.763.72$75,288
Nov 20162,2263,48142.492.64$103,788
Oct 20161,9973,59746.193.09$103,357
Sep 20161,8033,48141.553.10$85,708
Aug 20162,2043,59741.442.92$101,853
Jul 20162,1853,59741.622.92$101,459
Jun 20162,0013,48145.352.69$100,095
May 20162,0323,59742.521.99$93,562
Apr 20161,8633,48136.561.99$75,042
Mar 20162,0133,60233.011.79$72,911
Feb 20161,8613,23026.472.06$55,926
Jan 20162,4243,45327.352.36$74,461
Dec 20152,5753,45332.362.00$90,238
Nov 20151,9953,34138.792.17$84,627
Oct 20151,8213,45343.552.43$87,684
Sep 20152,0363,39342.992.76$96,887
Aug 20152,1463,45340.162.87$96,102
Jul 20152,3413,45348.152.95$122,889
Jun 20152,1533,34156.152.88$130,523
May 20152,8843,45355.212.96$169,431
Apr 20151,9723,34149.822.71$107,288
Mar 20152,4243,45342.892.93$114,099
Feb 20152,0133,11944.662.98$99,183
Jan 20152,8213,45343.433.10$133,223
Dec 20143,2923,45354.693.59$192,440
Nov 20142,4533,34170.464.25$187,044
Oct 20142,1773,45378.303.90$183,929
Sep 20145403,34186.164.05$60,042
Aug 20141,0793,45389.394.04$110,385
Jul 20142,5523,45396.564.18$260,853
Jun 20142,1893,34198.164.74$230,698
May 20142,7783,45394.734.73$279,481
Apr 20142,6073,34195.944.81$266,183
Mar 20142,6003,45395.895.06$266,775
Feb 20142,6343,11997.406.19$275,864
Jan 20142,4993,45490.404.86$242,699
Dec 20133,7513,66791.824.35$360,385
Nov 20133,7093,80088.853.74$343,750
Oct 20134,2924,90897.423.78$436,676
Sep 20134,1154,917104.113.72$446,693
Aug 20135,5155,564104.253.52$594,539
Jul 20137,82011,645102.523.72$844,999
Jun 20136,4111,93594.403.93$612,810

How to read this page

The arithmetic is one multiplication per stream per month. Here it is, worked, on a real row from the table above.

Jul 2022 — as filed, then multipliedworked
Oil               69,941 bbl  × $101.58 = $7,104,607
Casinghead gas    75,868 Mcf  × $  7.54 =   $572,203

────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Month total                               $7,676,809

The volumes are the state's, unchanged

Every barrel and every Mcf on this page is a number the Railroad Commission of Texas published in its monthly production query. Nothing is modelled, estimated or filled in.

The dollars are a multiplication, not a valuation

Volume × a published monthly price. It is not what the operator was paid: it takes no account of a contract, a differential, a transportation deduction, or the share any one owner holds.

Oil and gas are priced differently

Oil is a Texas realisation — the crude oil first purchase price. Gas is a benchmark, because no free Texas wellhead gas series exists at any date. The prices page publishes the difference rather than correcting it away.

A lease is not a well

The state reports oil on lease and gas on well, and this page is the lease grain. 08/O/44020 is the state's own key, not one this site invented.