NICHOLS EAST UNIT

Operated by DIAMONDBACK E&P LLC (P-5 217012) in the SPRABERRY (TREND AREA) field. Every figure below is a volume the Railroad Commission published, multiplied by a monthly price you can check.

Oil lease lease 53823District 08Field 85280300OilCasinghead gasSaveExport
Value, all time
$228.8 M
Jul 2019 – May 2026
Value, last 12 filed months
$13.6 M
at the published price for each month
Months reported
83
no gaps in the span
Streams
2
oil, casinghead gas

The Railroad Commission's own record for the field this lease produces from, including the spacing rule that governs how close together its wells may be drilled.

These are facts about the field, not about this lease. The field holds 16,587 leases and 43,997 wells, and the rule below applies to all of them.

Discovered
1952-12-22
as the register files it
Field class
Oil and gas
the register's own label
Between wells
0 ft
minimum
From a lease line
330 ft
minimum

A drilling unit in this field needs at least 80 acres. The field rule took effect on 2018-02-13.

The Commission's schedule remark for this field reads: “SPRABERRY (TREND AREA) FIELD EFFECTIVE 10/1/2019.”

What this lease produced, and what it was worth

Oil and condensate are valued on the volume the state records as disposed of; gas and casinghead gas on the volume produced. They are different columns of different files, and the difference is not cosmetic.

StreamBasisVolumeValue
OilDisposition2,640,665 bbl$185,592,597
Casinghead gasProduction11,903,080 Mcf$43,169,783
Total$228,762,380

Wells on this lease (11)

Every wellbore the Railroad Commission records against this lease key, with the depth, the last completion and the plug date exactly as filed. A well with no plug date is not stated to be producing — the state files no such flag.

These wells centre on 32.4082, -101.6817. A lease has no coordinate of its own — that point is the mean of its wells, and they span 0.4 miles.

32.40811, -101.68204 · centre of the wells drawn, derived

What these wells add up to

Every figure below is counted over all of this lease's wells, not over the rows listed above. The Railroad Commission files two facts about a well's state — a plug date and a proration-schedule flag — and a well can carry both, so they are published as separate counts and never merged into a status.

On the schedule
0.0%
0 of 11 wells
With a plug date
0.0%
0 of 11 wells
Median depth
8,196 ft
11 wells filed one
Completion to plug
—
no well filed both dates

What the state filed about each well

On the RRC proration schedule
00.0%
A plug date is filed
00.0%
BothOn the schedule and plugged. Neither fact cancels the other.
00.0%
NeitherNo plug date, and not on the schedule.
11100.0%

A plug date is the date the Commission recorded the wellbore as sealed with cement and abandoned. It is the only end-of-life fact Texas files. There is no "active" flag on a well, so this page does not print one — a well with no plug date is not stated to be producing.

How deep they were drilled

Total depth in feet, 11 of 11 wells. Median 8,196 ft, with the middle half between 7,838 and 8,355 ft; the shallowest is 7,407 ft and the deepest 8,453 ft. The median is published rather than the mean, because a single mis-keyed depth moves a mean and cannot move a median.

When they were last completed

Last completion by decade, 11 of 11 wells, Aug 2019 – Aug 2022. This is the LAST completion filed on each wellbore, not the first — a well recompleted in 2019 counts once, in the 2010s.

Completions filed
Aug 2019 – Aug 2022
11 of 11 wells

11 wells

42-227406944JM7,407 ftAug 2022——
42-227398042WA8,191 ftAug 2021——
42-227398022LS7,825 ftAug 2021——
42-227406923LS7,850 ftJul 2021——
42-227406934WA8,212 ftJul 2021——
42-227407243WA8,196 ftJul 2021——
42-22740752R001WB8,448 ftNov 2020——
42-227398011WA8,268 ftOct 2020——
42-227398001LS7,815 ftOct 2020——
42-227402272WB8,453 ftOct 2019——
42-227402261WB8,442 ftAug 2019——

The API number is the state's, prefixed 42 for Texas. A well is matched to this lease by the lease key the Commission files on the wellbore record, so a well that has moved between leases appears under each one it was filed against.

Leases whose centres are nearest (583)

Ranked by the distance between lease centres, within 5 miles. A lease has no coordinate the state files — each centre is the mean of that lease's own wells, so this measures how far apart two centres are and not whether the two leases touch.

LeaseOperatorCentres apart
GASKINS 15DIAMONDBACK E&P LLC0.30 mi
JONES ESTATE "14"DIAMONDBACK E&P LLC0.34 mi
NICHOLS WEST DDIAMONDBACK E&P LLC0.36 mi
GASKINS-ODDFELLOWS UNITDIAMONDBACK E&P LLC0.43 mi
NICHOLS WEST EDIAMONDBACK E&P LLC0.46 mi
JONES ESTATE "14A"DIAMONDBACK E&P LLC0.47 mi
SHAW FARMS UNITDIAMONDBACK E&P LLC0.49 mi
FRYAR 11DIAMONDBACK E&P LLC0.52 mi
NICHOLS WEST BDIAMONDBACK E&P LLC0.52 mi
LEAP FROG 47-11 GDIAMONDBACK E&P LLC0.57 mi

The 10 nearest are listed. 583 leases in all have a centre within 5 miles of this one.

Operators who reported on those leases

Taken from the same 5-mile set above. This is who filed production, not who holds acreage — the state publishes no acreage register.

Every month this lease reported (83)

Volume × price = value, one row per cycle. The price columns are the same series published on the prices page — nothing here is modelled.

83 months

May 20264,56596,605106.413.05$780,005
Apr 20265,675123,10698.932.87$914,708
Mar 20266,930170,25889.753.15$1,158,185
Feb 20266,994153,79663.503.75$1,020,903
Jan 20268,547158,82159.138.00$1,775,622
Dec 20258,809167,46756.664.41$1,238,210
Nov 20258,272165,98558.593.93$1,136,387
Oct 20258,385158,69459.383.30$1,022,360
Sep 20257,006165,71262.743.08$949,439
Aug 20258,924189,89663.933.01$1,143,002
Jul 20259,103198,65766.743.32$1,266,122
Jun 20259,190181,90866.483.13$1,180,090
May 20257,837175,27660.553.23$1,041,078
Apr 20258,484180,10962.363.54$1,167,210
Mar 20259,121195,97267.704.27$1,453,963
Feb 20259,030163,67070.884.34$1,350,512
Jan 202511,390184,01074.324.28$1,633,825
Dec 202413,226211,51468.993.12$1,572,675
Nov 202413,229194,58569.052.20$1,341,246
Oct 202414,877193,44671.372.28$1,503,099
Sep 202414,738188,39369.612.36$1,471,341
Aug 202416,409208,34875.632.06$1,670,966
Jul 202416,794198,66079.932.15$1,768,786
Jun 202417,019197,18778.082.63$1,848,230
May 202417,195167,23978.812.20$1,722,803
Apr 202419,452183,91284.451.66$1,947,868
Mar 202418,413192,89880.301.55$1,776,616
Feb 202420,932202,65976.091.78$1,954,187
Jan 202424,674218,74673.023.30$2,523,045
Dec 202326,930239,88071.262.61$2,545,291
Nov 202327,830224,92077.892.81$2,799,155
Oct 202328,839230,73885.443.09$3,176,357
Sep 202324,370208,40789.042.74$2,739,906
Aug 202328,507238,65380.522.67$2,933,274
Jul 202331,081245,81974.852.64$2,975,817
Jun 202333,173221,16468.962.26$2,787,105
May 202335,870230,36270.622.23$3,046,248
Apr 202338,303208,12178.122.24$3,457,955
Mar 202338,086182,50072.852.39$3,211,317
Feb 202329,363136,86975.112.47$2,542,930
Jan 202337,219170,40076.533.39$3,425,638
Dec 202234,059178,36376.415.73$3,624,304
Nov 202230,389147,40885.005.65$3,415,360
Oct 202217,30281,15087.185.86$1,984,232
Sep 202214,53432,99684.888.16$1,503,015
Aug 20223,17217,01594.529.13$455,116
Jul 202238,793184,802101.587.54$5,334,384
Jun 202255,252222,772115.097.98$8,136,049
May 202264,640221,173109.378.43$8,934,838
Apr 202258,648202,578104.226.84$7,497,442
Mar 202268,024203,258108.885.08$8,438,272
Feb 202272,534189,41491.054.86$7,524,553
Jan 202286,600191,07681.844.54$7,954,386
Dec 202179,365124,48671.323.90$6,145,698
Nov 202193,843161,46277.435.24$8,111,816
Oct 2021113,544169,68879.795.71$10,029,251
Sep 2021116,371127,06269.865.35$8,809,577
Aug 2021102,561121,24566.024.22$7,282,803
Jul 202114,46329,95770.783.98$1,142,982
Jun 202139,537124,51969.493.38$3,168,378
May 202145,342129,22863.483.02$3,268,278
Apr 202151,149127,94960.362.76$3,440,291
Mar 202169,535151,43561.302.72$4,673,935
Feb 202154,731141,17757.805.55$3,946,695
Jan 202197,967248,33750.412.81$5,636,410
Dec 2020127,941256,26044.642.68$6,396,900
Nov 2020154,727193,05638.772.71$6,521,285
Oct 202086,19275,37336.972.48$3,373,325
Sep 202041,27335,40537.091.99$1,601,308
Aug 202033,28339,90239.982.39$1,425,825
Jul 202050,10349,17238.371.83$2,012,197
Jun 20200034.901.69$0
May 20200016.921.81$0
Apr 20200014.751.80$0
Mar 20200030.341.86$0
Feb 20200049.881.98$0
Jan 20200057.252.09$0
Dec 20190059.012.30$0
Nov 20190055.302.75$0
Oct 20190053.472.42$0
Sep 20190055.052.66$0
Aug 20190053.112.30$0
Jul 20190056.272.46$0

How to read this page

The arithmetic is one multiplication per stream per month. Here it is, worked, on a real row from the table above.

May 2026 — as filed, then multipliedworked
Oil                4,565 bbl  × $106.41 =   $485,762
Casinghead gas    96,605 Mcf  × $  3.05 =   $294,243

────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Month total                                 $780,005

The volumes are the state's, unchanged

Every barrel and every Mcf on this page is a number the Railroad Commission of Texas published in its monthly production query. Nothing is modelled, estimated or filled in.

The dollars are a multiplication, not a valuation

Volume × a published monthly price. It is not what the operator was paid: it takes no account of a contract, a differential, a transportation deduction, or the share any one owner holds.

Oil and gas are priced differently

Oil is a Texas realisation — the crude oil first purchase price. Gas is a benchmark, because no free Texas wellhead gas series exists at any date. The prices page publishes the difference rather than correcting it away.

A lease is not a well

The state reports oil on lease and gas on well, and this page is the lease grain. 08/O/53823 is the state's own key, not one this site invented.