SMAILS B

Operated by SM ENERGY COMPANY (P-5 788997) in the SPRABERRY (TREND AREA) field. Every figure below is a volume the Railroad Commission published, multiplied by a monthly price you can check.

Oil lease lease 56484District 08Field 85280300OilCasinghead gasSaveExport
Value, all time
$50.3 M
Oct 2021 – May 2026
Value, last 12 filed months
$2.5 M
at the published price for each month
Months reported
56
no gaps in the span
Streams
2
oil, casinghead gas

The Railroad Commission's own record for the field this lease produces from, including the spacing rule that governs how close together its wells may be drilled.

These are facts about the field, not about this lease. The field holds 16,587 leases and 43,997 wells, and the rule below applies to all of them.

Discovered
1952-12-22
as the register files it
Field class
Oil and gas
the register's own label
Between wells
0 ft
minimum
From a lease line
330 ft
minimum

A drilling unit in this field needs at least 80 acres. The field rule took effect on 2018-02-13.

The Commission's schedule remark for this field reads: “SPRABERRY (TREND AREA) FIELD EFFECTIVE 10/1/2019.”

What this lease produced, and what it was worth

Oil and condensate are valued on the volume the state records as disposed of; gas and casinghead gas on the volume produced. They are different columns of different files, and the difference is not cosmetic.

StreamBasisVolumeValue
OilDisposition500,935 bbl$43,449,562
Casinghead gasProduction1,640,938 Mcf$6,803,712
Total$50,253,274

Wells on this lease (1)

Every wellbore the Railroad Commission records against this lease key, with the depth, the last completion and the plug date exactly as filed. A well with no plug date is not stated to be producing — the state files no such flag.

These wells centre on 32.5097, -101.6985. A lease has no coordinate of its own — that point is the mean of its wells, and they span 0.0 miles.

32.50971, -101.69855 · centre of the wells drawn, derived

What these wells add up to

Every figure below is counted over all of this lease's wells, not over the rows listed above. The Railroad Commission files two facts about a well's state — a plug date and a proration-schedule flag — and a well can carry both, so they are published as separate counts and never merged into a status.

On the schedule
0.0%
0 of 1 wells
With a plug date
0.0%
0 of 1 wells
Median depth
8,436 ft
1 wells filed one
Completion to plug
—
no well filed both dates

What the state filed about each well

On the RRC proration schedule
00.0%
A plug date is filed
00.0%
BothOn the schedule and plugged. Neither fact cancels the other.
00.0%
NeitherNo plug date, and not on the schedule.
1100.0%

A plug date is the date the Commission recorded the wellbore as sealed with cement and abandoned. It is the only end-of-life fact Texas files. There is no "active" flag on a well, so this page does not print one — a well with no plug date is not stated to be producing.

How deep they were drilled

The one well that filed a depth was drilled to 8,436 ft.

Completions filed
Oct 2021
1 of 1 wells

1 well

42-227409692349WA8,436 ftOct 2021——

The API number is the state's, prefixed 42 for Texas. A well is matched to this lease by the lease key the Commission files on the wellbore record, so a well that has moved between leases appears under each one it was filed against.

Leases whose centres are nearest (369)

Ranked by the distance between lease centres, within 5 miles. A lease has no coordinate the state files — each centre is the mean of that lease's own wells, so this measures how far apart two centres are and not whether the two leases touch.

LeaseOperatorCentres apart
SMAILS CSM ENERGY COMPANY0.08 mi
SMAILS ASM ENERGY COMPANY0.09 mi
SMALLWOOD '14'DIAMONDBACK E&P LLC0.19 mi
SMAILS DSM ENERGY COMPANY0.19 mi
MADADOR CSM ENERGY COMPANY0.35 mi
MADADOR ASM ENERGY COMPANY0.46 mi
MADADOR BSM ENERGY COMPANY0.48 mi
BOWLIN 13 UNITOXYROCK OPERATING, LLC0.53 mi
LEMON FARMS UNIT "14"OVINTIV USA INC.0.68 mi
HEFLEY 24 ASMC OIL & GAS, INC.0.69 mi

The 10 nearest are listed. 369 leases in all have a centre within 5 miles of this one.

Operators who reported on those leases

Taken from the same 5-mile set above. This is who filed production, not who holds acreage — the state publishes no acreage register.

Every month this lease reported (56)

Volume × price = value, one row per cycle. The price columns are the same series published on the prices page — nothing here is modelled.

56 months

May 20262,06115,809106.413.05$267,463
Apr 20261,92318,03298.932.87$241,989
Mar 20262,04519,35989.753.15$244,509
Feb 20261,50611,73963.503.75$139,656
Jan 20261,95515,16059.138.00$236,848
Dec 20251,97215,60556.664.41$180,604
Nov 20251,79514,24158.593.93$161,085
Oct 20252,19319,76659.383.30$195,544
Sep 20252,03219,31162.743.08$186,906
Aug 20252,00219,54063.933.01$186,896
Jul 20251,82715,77066.743.32$174,215
Jun 20252,91724,24066.483.13$269,762
May 20253,20326,87860.553.23$280,820
Apr 20252,71023,03162.363.54$250,597
Mar 20253,37328,04267.704.27$348,044
Feb 20253,43825,99970.884.34$356,543
Jan 20253,83228,72974.324.28$407,716
Dec 20244,59528,23468.993.12$405,138
Nov 20243,41024,28769.052.20$288,854
Oct 20244,74328,82171.372.28$404,260
Sep 20244,95427,41469.612.36$409,665
Aug 20243,98826,49475.632.06$356,286
Jul 20242,84429,23479.932.15$290,074
Jun 202421078.082.63$1,640
May 20249197,64578.812.20$89,233
Apr 20243,87330,34384.451.66$377,420
Mar 20243,97730,04380.301.55$365,773
Feb 20243,28023,99576.091.78$292,374
Jan 20244,29528,58573.023.30$407,885
Dec 20234,38330,58871.262.61$392,189
Nov 20234,89634,08977.892.81$477,056
Oct 20234,99238,05585.443.09$544,003
Sep 20235,36639,08889.042.74$584,696
Aug 20236,09443,43980.522.67$606,796
Jul 20236,94443,79374.852.64$635,451
Jun 20237,57340,46468.962.26$613,621
May 20238,50742,30570.622.23$694,995
Apr 20238,70843,64078.122.24$777,925
Mar 20238,77144,66572.852.39$745,858
Feb 20237,24831,61575.112.47$622,350
Jan 20239,07537,17276.533.39$820,438
Dec 202211,58937,85276.415.73$1,102,373
Nov 202213,74036,20385.005.65$1,372,309
Oct 202212,24728,81687.185.86$1,236,664
Sep 202215,35847,98584.888.16$1,695,321
Aug 202216,95647,21194.529.13$2,033,583
Jul 202219,33547,419101.587.54$2,321,687
Jun 202220,03042,869115.097.98$2,647,227
May 202226,80953,860109.378.43$3,386,304
Apr 202231,65649,855104.226.84$3,640,077
Mar 202238,24845,581108.885.08$4,395,830
Feb 202232,71331,27991.054.86$3,130,498
Jan 202230,36425,99081.844.54$2,602,924
Dec 202125,20720,56071.323.90$1,877,929
Nov 202130,17721,99677.435.24$2,451,795
Oct 202112,2668,20379.795.71$1,025,575

How to read this page

The arithmetic is one multiplication per stream per month. Here it is, worked, on a real row from the table above.

May 2026 — as filed, then multipliedworked
Oil                2,061 bbl  × $106.41 =   $219,311
Casinghead gas    15,809 Mcf  × $  3.05 =    $48,152

────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Month total                                 $267,463

The volumes are the state's, unchanged

Every barrel and every Mcf on this page is a number the Railroad Commission of Texas published in its monthly production query. Nothing is modelled, estimated or filled in.

The dollars are a multiplication, not a valuation

Volume × a published monthly price. It is not what the operator was paid: it takes no account of a contract, a differential, a transportation deduction, or the share any one owner holds.

Oil and gas are priced differently

Oil is a Texas realisation — the crude oil first purchase price. Gas is a benchmark, because no free Texas wellhead gas series exists at any date. The prices page publishes the difference rather than correcting it away.

A lease is not a well

The state reports oil on lease and gas on well, and this page is the lease grain. 08/O/56484 is the state's own key, not one this site invented.