PAINT RIDGE UNIT

Operated by PRESIDIO PETROLEUM LLC (P-5 676084) in the PAINT RIDGE (CANYON GRANITE WSH) field. Every figure below is a volume the Railroad Commission published, multiplied by a monthly price you can check.

Oil lease lease 9887District 10Field 68405500OilCasinghead gasSaveExport
Value, all time
$55.0 M
Jul 2019 – May 2026
Value, last 12 filed months
$4.8 M
at the published price for each month
Months reported
82
1 month not filed
Streams
2
oil, casinghead gas

The Railroad Commission's own record for the field this lease produces from, including the spacing rule that governs how close together its wells may be drilled.

These are facts about the field, not about this lease. The field holds 10 leases and 75 wells, and the rule below applies to all of them.

Discovered
2010-03-17
as the register files it
Field class
Oil
the register's own label
Between wells
1,200 ft
minimum
From a lease line
467 ft
minimum

A drilling unit in this field needs at least 160 acres. The field rule took effect on 2014-04-22.

The Commission's schedule remark for this field reads: “RULES ADOPTED, INCLUDING TAKE POINT AND NPZ LANGUAGE.”

What this lease produced, and what it was worth

Oil and condensate are valued on the volume the state records as disposed of; gas and casinghead gas on the volume produced. They are different columns of different files, and the difference is not cosmetic.

StreamBasisVolumeValue
OilDisposition720,975 bbl$50,594,238
Casinghead gasProduction1,199,166 Mcf$4,393,264
Total$54,987,503

Wells on this lease (29)

Every wellbore the Railroad Commission records against this lease key, with the depth, the last completion and the plug date exactly as filed. A well with no plug date is not stated to be producing — the state files no such flag.

These wells centre on 35.5447, -102.2441. A lease has no coordinate of its own — that point is the mean of its wells, and they span 3.6 miles.

35.55100, -102.24232 · centre of the wells drawn, derived

What these wells add up to

Every figure below is counted over all of this lease's wells, not over the rows listed above. The Railroad Commission files two facts about a well's state — a plug date and a proration-schedule flag — and a well can carry both, so they are published as separate counts and never merged into a status.

On the schedule
37.9%
11 of 29 wells
With a plug date
0.0%
0 of 29 wells
Median depth
9,601 ft
29 wells filed one
Completion to plug
—
no well filed both dates

What the state filed about each well

On the RRC proration schedule
1137.9%
A plug date is filed
00.0%
BothOn the schedule and plugged. Neither fact cancels the other.
00.0%
NeitherNo plug date, and not on the schedule.
1862.1%

A plug date is the date the Commission recorded the wellbore as sealed with cement and abandoned. It is the only end-of-life fact Texas files. There is no "active" flag on a well, so this page does not print one — a well with no plug date is not stated to be producing.

How deep they were drilled

Total depth in feet, 29 of 29 wells. Median 9,601 ft, with the middle half between 9,510 and 9,685 ft; the shallowest is 9,431 ft and the deepest 10,290 ft. The median is published rather than the mean, because a single mis-keyed depth moves a mean and cannot move a median.

When they were last completed

Last completion by decade, 29 of 29 wells, Dec 2011 – Sep 2023. This is the LAST completion filed on each wellbore, not the first — a well recompleted in 2019 counts once, in the 2010s.

Completions filed
Dec 2011 – Sep 2023
29 of 29 wells

29 wells

42-3593035611689,695 ftSep 2023——
42-3593041440710,290 ftDec 2017—Yes
42-359303783049,555 ftAug 2016—Yes
42-359304122029,732 ftJan 2016—Yes
42-3593039016189,627 ftJun 2014——
42-3593037711589,685 ftApr 2014——
42-35930389115K9,593 ftMar 2014——
42-3593034029019,510 ftMar 2014—Yes
42-35930387179,480 ftJan 2014—Yes
42-3593038111599,470 ftDec 2013—Yes
42-35930383169,581 ftNov 2013—Yes
42-3593036611699,440 ftSep 2013——
42-3593037411579,437 ftJul 2013——
42-359303753039,622 ftJul 2013——
42-3593036311659,503 ftJul 2013——
42-3593037116109,601 ftJun 2013——
42-359303283019,756 ftJun 2013—Yes
42-35930373115R9,684 ftMay 2013——
42-3593036511419,709 ftMar 2013—Yes
42-3593036211639,675 ftFeb 2013——
42-359303514059,560 ftDec 2012—Yes
42-3593035811549,607 ftNov 2012——
42-3593033928029,431 ftOct 2012——
42-359303464039,700 ftOct 2012—Yes
42-3593035411649,432 ftSep 2012——
42-3593034111519,600 ftSep 2012——
42-3593035211559,710 ftJul 2012——
42-3593034711619,650 ftMay 2012——
42-359303433029,600 ftDec 2011——

The API number is the state's, prefixed 42 for Texas. A well is matched to this lease by the lease key the Commission files on the wellbore record, so a well that has moved between leases appears under each one it was filed against.

Leases whose centres are nearest (16)

Ranked by the distance between lease centres, within 5 miles. A lease has no coordinate the state files — each centre is the mean of that lease's own wells, so this measures how far apart two centres are and not whether the two leases touch.

LeaseOperatorCentres apart
BOYS RANCH 116PRESIDIO PETROLEUM LLC0.35 mi
BIVINS-LITPRESIDIO PETROLEUM LLC0.36 mi
BIVINS-LIT ACSUNLIGHT EXPLORATION, INC.0.87 mi
LS RANCHARROW OIL & GAS, LLC2.74 mi
NBRARROW OIL & GAS, LLC2.87 mi
BIVINS-LITPRESIDIO PETROLEUM LLC3.05 mi
BIVINS-LITSUNLIGHT EXPLORATION, INC.3.59 mi
CHEYENNE STATIONAPACHE CORPORATION3.60 mi
SMITH RANCHUNITED OIL & SHALE LLC3.70 mi
BIVINS-WESTPRESIDIO PETROLEUM LLC3.81 mi

The 10 nearest are listed. 16 leases in all have a centre within 5 miles of this one.

Operators who reported on those leases

Taken from the same 5-mile set above. This is who filed production, not who holds acreage — the state publishes no acreage register.

Every month this lease reported (82)

Volume × price = value, one row per cycle. The price columns are the same series published on the prices page — nothing here is modelled.

82 months

May 202600106.413.05$0
Apr 20260098.932.87$0
Mar 20264,80249789.753.15$432,545
Feb 20267,40758363.503.75$472,531
Jan 20265,99011,92859.138.00$449,588
Dec 20257,45211,80656.664.41$474,334
Nov 20254,31612,38658.593.93$301,507
Oct 20256,80313,52259.383.30$448,650
Sep 20258,04114,80962.743.08$550,058
Aug 20258,42614,93063.933.01$583,685
Jul 20256,35515,59166.743.32$475,820
Jun 20257,82814,72466.483.13$566,473
May 20254,71813,92360.553.23$330,678
Apr 20256,68512,81862.363.54$462,292
Mar 20256,67512,33867.704.27$504,560
Feb 20256,30710,72670.884.34$493,600
Jan 20256,45611,25474.324.28$527,962
Dec 20248,13214,80168.993.12$607,226
Nov 20247,35312,89169.052.20$536,065
Oct 20248,01612,51071.372.28$600,642
Sep 20246,62612,03369.612.36$489,686
Aug 20247,19912,92775.632.06$571,137
Jul 20247,39813,68479.932.15$620,696
Jun 20246,77513,77578.082.63$565,275
May 20249,35912,64978.812.20$765,391
Apr 20247,93913,72284.451.66$693,216
Mar 20249,05815,13480.301.55$750,741
Feb 20247,90314,37276.091.78$626,974
Jan 20247,97212,73373.023.30$624,105
Dec 20239,42114,53071.262.61$709,274
Nov 20238,27912,99377.892.81$681,330
Oct 20238,35614,77285.443.09$759,542
Sep 20238,70014,77289.042.74$815,050
Aug 20238,68814,00880.522.67$736,999
Jul 20235,70511,90474.852.64$458,467
Jun 20237,11813,59668.962.26$521,564
May 20237,48313,68570.622.23$558,931
Apr 20237,65313,94278.122.24$629,051
Mar 202310,74215,29172.852.39$819,149
Feb 20239,18914,07575.112.47$724,890
Jan 20239,36015,22776.533.39$767,906
Dec 20228,64014,67876.415.73$744,274
Oct 202210,64716,99287.185.86$1,027,842
Sep 202211,02117,33784.888.16$1,076,996
Aug 20227,41313,57894.529.13$824,605
Jul 202210,13216,233101.587.54$1,151,639
Jun 202211,76318,841115.097.98$1,504,102
May 202211,27319,019109.378.43$1,393,316
Apr 202212,62518,711104.226.84$1,443,716
Mar 202214,54318,728108.885.08$1,678,513
Feb 202210,46316,53791.054.86$1,033,007
Jan 202210,12817,74981.844.54$909,415
Dec 202111,00720,75771.323.90$865,953
Nov 202113,51020,42677.435.24$1,153,047
Oct 202111,57921,53779.795.71$1,046,948
Sep 202112,89623,38169.865.35$1,026,024
Aug 202113,87525,35566.024.22$1,023,041
Jul 202111,91023,60470.783.98$936,983
Jun 202110,73721,95669.493.38$820,339
May 202113,60623,44363.483.02$934,452
Apr 202113,95423,65660.362.76$907,517
Mar 202114,98225,79161.302.72$988,469
Feb 20218,99717,88957.805.55$619,274
Jan 202112,66727,22350.412.81$715,047
Dec 20204,4586,04744.642.68$215,184
Nov 20204,2115,99438.772.71$179,484
Oct 20204,6166,09636.972.48$185,762
Sep 20204,6637,18837.091.99$187,262
Aug 20203,0087,06839.982.39$137,118
Jul 20201,8687,66938.371.83$85,672
Jun 20202351,11134.901.69$10,079
May 20200016.921.81$0
Apr 20209,0838,67614.751.80$149,629
Mar 20206,8767,63930.341.86$222,798
Feb 202011,1549,11749.881.98$574,419
Jan 202011,5399,81257.252.09$681,161
Dec 201922,62535,47259.012.30$1,416,842
Nov 201918,92930,03155.302.75$1,129,380
Oct 201916,05630,29953.472.42$931,794
Sep 201920,57129,70355.052.66$1,211,363
Aug 201920,03031,96253.112.30$1,137,445
Jul 20190056.272.46$0

Not filed, and not zero: Nov 2022. The Railroad Commission holds no report for those months, so this page shows none — a zero would state that the lease produced nothing.

How to read this page

The arithmetic is one multiplication per stream per month. Here it is, worked, on a real row from the table above.

Mar 2026 — as filed, then multipliedworked
Oil                4,802 bbl  × $ 89.75 =   $430,980
Casinghead gas       497 Mcf  × $  3.15 =     $1,565

────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Month total                                 $432,545

The volumes are the state's, unchanged

Every barrel and every Mcf on this page is a number the Railroad Commission of Texas published in its monthly production query. Nothing is modelled, estimated or filled in.

The dollars are a multiplication, not a valuation

Volume × a published monthly price. It is not what the operator was paid: it takes no account of a contract, a differential, a transportation deduction, or the share any one owner holds.

Oil and gas are priced differently

Oil is a Texas realisation — the crude oil first purchase price. Gas is a benchmark, because no free Texas wellhead gas series exists at any date. The prices page publishes the difference rather than correcting it away.

A lease is not a well

The state reports oil on lease and gas on well, and this page is the lease grain. 10/O/9887 is the state's own key, not one this site invented.