UNIVERSITY 45

Operated by EP ENERGY E&P COMPANY, L.P. (P-5 253385) in the LIN (WOLFCAMP) field. Every figure below is a volume the Railroad Commission published, multiplied by a monthly price you can check.

Oil lease lease 17935District 7CField 53613750OilCasinghead gasSaveExport
Value, all time
$13.4 M
Mar 2012 – Sep 2015
Value, last 12 filed months
$2.5 M
at the published price for each month
Months reported
43
no gaps in the span
Streams
2
oil, casinghead gas

The Railroad Commission's own record for the field this lease produces from, including the spacing rule that governs how close together its wells may be drilled.

These are facts about the field, not about this lease. The field holds 515 leases and 2,325 wells, and the rule below applies to all of them.

Discovered
1984-10-08
as the register files it
Field class
Oil and gas
the register's own label
Between wells
0 ft
minimum
From a lease line
330 ft
minimum

A drilling unit in this field needs at least 40 acres. The field rule took effect on 2014-04-21.

The Commission's schedule remark for this field reads: “PER DOCKET NO. 7C-0317412, LIN (WOLFCAMP) IS A UFT FIELD. PDD”

What this lease produced, and what it was worth

Oil and condensate are valued on the volume the state records as disposed of; gas and casinghead gas on the volume produced. They are different columns of different files, and the difference is not cosmetic.

StreamBasisVolumeValue
OilDisposition131,772 bbl$11,544,798
Casinghead gasProduction444,967 Mcf$1,851,746
Total$13,396,544

Wells on this lease (8)

Every wellbore the Railroad Commission records against this lease key, with the depth, the last completion and the plug date exactly as filed. A well with no plug date is not stated to be producing — the state files no such flag.

These wells centre on 30.9602, -101.2863. A lease has no coordinate of its own — that point is the mean of its wells, and they span 6.1 miles.

30.93248, -101.28728 · centre of 5 wells drawn, derived

What these wells add up to

Every figure below is counted over all of this lease's wells, not over the rows listed above. The Railroad Commission files two facts about a well's state — a plug date and a proration-schedule flag — and a well can carry both, so they are published as separate counts and never merged into a status.

On the schedule
12.5%
1 of 8 wells
With a plug date
0.0%
0 of 8 wells
Median depth
6,556 ft
8 wells filed one
Completion to plug
—
no well filed both dates

What the state filed about each well

On the RRC proration schedule
112.5%
A plug date is filed
00.0%
BothOn the schedule and plugged. Neither fact cancels the other.
00.0%
NeitherNo plug date, and not on the schedule.
787.5%

A plug date is the date the Commission recorded the wellbore as sealed with cement and abandoned. It is the only end-of-life fact Texas files. There is no "active" flag on a well, so this page does not print one — a well with no plug date is not stated to be producing.

How deep they were drilled

Total depth in feet, 8 of 8 wells. Median 6,556 ft, with the middle half between 6,106 and 6,638 ft; the shallowest is 4,315 ft and the deepest 6,705 ft. The median is published rather than the mean, because a single mis-keyed depth moves a mean and cannot move a median.

When they were last completed

Last completion by decade, 8 of 8 wells, Mar 2012 – Sep 2014. This is the LAST completion filed on each wellbore, not the first — a well recompleted in 2019 counts once, in the 2010s.

Completions filed
Mar 2012 – Sep 2014
8 of 8 wells

8 wells

42-105414810616H6,705 ftSep 2014——
42-105414780615H6,660 ftSep 2014—Yes
42-105415010607H6,631 ftApr 2013——
42-105414722504H5,897 ftJan 2013——
42-105414712503H6,175 ftDec 2012——
42-105415000608H6,581 ftSep 2012——
42-105414770613H4,315 ftJun 2012——
42-105413530601H6,530 ftMar 2012——

The API number is the state's, prefixed 42 for Texas. A well is matched to this lease by the lease key the Commission files on the wellbore record, so a well that has moved between leases appears under each one it was filed against.

Leases whose centres are nearest (77)

Ranked by the distance between lease centres, within 5 miles. A lease has no coordinate the state files — each centre is the mean of that lease's own wells, so this measures how far apart two centres are and not whether the two leases touch.

LeaseOperatorCentres apart
UNIVERSITY 45 AAPPROACH OPERATING LLC0.55 mi
UNIVERSITY 45 BAPPROACH OPERATING LLC1.54 mi
UNIVERSITY "45 F"APPROACH OPERATING LLC2.11 mi
UNIVERSITY 45ZARVONA ENERGY LLC2.14 mi
UNIVERSITY 45 CAPPROACH OPERATING LLC2.17 mi
UNIVERSITY "J"VANCO OIL & GAS CORP.2.25 mi
UNIVERSITY "H"BELVAN CORP.2.25 mi
UNIVERSITY "J"VANCO OIL & GAS CORP.2.25 mi
UNIVERSITY BLOCK 46MARIAH ENERGY CORP.2.45 mi
WATER DOGKSTONE ENERGY, LLC2.50 mi

The 10 nearest are listed. 77 leases in all have a centre within 5 miles of this one.

Operators who reported on those leases

Taken from the same 5-mile set above. This is who filed production, not who holds acreage — the state publishes no acreage register.

Every month this lease reported (43)

Volume × price = value, one row per cycle. The price columns are the same series published on the prices page — nothing here is modelled.

43 months

Sep 20150042.992.76$0
Aug 20150040.162.87$0
Jul 20150048.152.95$0
Jun 20150056.152.88$0
May 20150055.212.96$0
Apr 20150049.822.71$0
Mar 20150042.892.93$0
Feb 20150044.662.98$0
Jan 20156,91216,07443.433.10$350,028
Dec 20146,82328,69854.693.59$476,215
Nov 20146,82628,95870.464.25$604,085
Oct 201411,73937,33178.303.90$1,064,790
Sep 20145,80610,97486.164.05$544,640
Aug 20142,38611,24389.394.04$258,651
Jul 20142,58614,39096.564.18$309,849
Jun 20143,39713,85498.164.74$399,074
May 20143,62520,37994.734.73$439,719
Apr 20142,85815,20795.944.81$347,329
Mar 20143,35525,21595.895.06$449,218
Feb 20143,07022,84497.406.19$440,468
Jan 20146,90319,45690.404.86$718,601
Dec 20131,8605,98791.824.35$196,855
Nov 20132,66410,86188.853.74$277,298
Oct 20134,64016,25197.423.78$513,447
Sep 20134,86319,660104.113.72$579,378
Aug 20135,86328,140104.253.52$710,344
Jul 20136,91034,261102.523.72$835,787
Jun 201310,54228,76094.403.93$1,108,290
May 201310,5816,62694.834.15$1,030,888
Apr 20131,4474,74493.964.28$156,277
Mar 20138,05214,76993.623.91$811,617
Feb 2013377091.233.42$34,394
Jan 20137,6879,94091.603.42$738,123
Dec 2012034586.773.42$1,180
Nov 20120086.953.62$0
Oct 20120089.383.40$0
Sep 20120094.672.92$0
Aug 20120092.662.91$0
Jul 20120085.133.02$0
Jun 20120079.822.52$0
May 20120091.612.49$0
Apr 201200101.652.00$0
Mar 201200105.052.22$0

How to read this page

The arithmetic is one multiplication per stream per month. Here it is, worked, on a real row from the table above.

Jan 2015 — as filed, then multipliedworked
Oil                6,912 bbl  × $ 43.43 =   $300,188
Casinghead gas    16,074 Mcf  × $  3.10 =    $49,840

────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Month total                                 $350,028

The volumes are the state's, unchanged

Every barrel and every Mcf on this page is a number the Railroad Commission of Texas published in its monthly production query. Nothing is modelled, estimated or filled in.

The dollars are a multiplication, not a valuation

Volume × a published monthly price. It is not what the operator was paid: it takes no account of a contract, a differential, a transportation deduction, or the share any one owner holds.

Oil and gas are priced differently

Oil is a Texas realisation — the crude oil first purchase price. Gas is a benchmark, because no free Texas wellhead gas series exists at any date. The prices page publishes the difference rather than correcting it away.

A lease is not a well

The state reports oil on lease and gas on well, and this page is the lease grain. 7C/O/17935 is the state's own key, not one this site invented.