COWDEN 39-03 EAST UNIT

Operated by XTO ENERGY INC. (P-5 945936) in the SPRABERRY (TREND AREA) field. Every figure below is a volume the Railroad Commission published, multiplied by a monthly price you can check.

Oil lease lease 61416District 08Field 85280300OilCasinghead gasSaveExport
Value, all time
$255.6 M
Sep 2023 – May 2026
Value, last 12 filed months
$42.5 M
at the published price for each month
Months reported
33
no gaps in the span
Streams
2
oil, casinghead gas

The Railroad Commission's own record for the field this lease produces from, including the spacing rule that governs how close together its wells may be drilled.

These are facts about the field, not about this lease. The field holds 16,587 leases and 43,997 wells, and the rule below applies to all of them.

Discovered
1952-12-22
as the register files it
Field class
Oil and gas
the register's own label
Between wells
0 ft
minimum
From a lease line
330 ft
minimum

A drilling unit in this field needs at least 80 acres. The field rule took effect on 2018-02-13.

The Commission's schedule remark for this field reads: “SPRABERRY (TREND AREA) FIELD EFFECTIVE 10/1/2019.”

What this lease produced, and what it was worth

Oil and condensate are valued on the volume the state records as disposed of; gas and casinghead gas on the volume produced. They are different columns of different files, and the difference is not cosmetic.

StreamBasisVolumeValue
OilDisposition3,014,231 bbl$227,128,822
Casinghead gasProduction9,653,541 Mcf$28,459,104
Total$255,587,926

Wells on this lease (9)

Every wellbore the Railroad Commission records against this lease key, with the depth, the last completion and the plug date exactly as filed. A well with no plug date is not stated to be producing — the state files no such flag.

These wells centre on 31.6333, -101.9708. A lease has no coordinate of its own — that point is the mean of its wells, and they span 0.4 miles.

31.63325, -101.97069 · centre of the wells drawn, derived

What these wells add up to

Every figure below is counted over all of this lease's wells, not over the rows listed above. The Railroad Commission files two facts about a well's state — a plug date and a proration-schedule flag — and a well can carry both, so they are published as separate counts and never merged into a status.

On the schedule
0.0%
0 of 9 wells
With a plug date
0.0%
0 of 9 wells
Median depth
9,305 ft
9 wells filed one
Completion to plug
—
no well filed both dates

What the state filed about each well

On the RRC proration schedule
00.0%
A plug date is filed
00.0%
BothOn the schedule and plugged. Neither fact cancels the other.
00.0%
NeitherNo plug date, and not on the schedule.
9100.0%

A plug date is the date the Commission recorded the wellbore as sealed with cement and abandoned. It is the only end-of-life fact Texas files. There is no "active" flag on a well, so this page does not print one — a well with no plug date is not stated to be producing.

How deep they were drilled

Total depth in feet, 9 of 9 wells. Median 9,305 ft, with the middle half between 8,762 and 9,716 ft; the shallowest is 8,702 ft and the deepest 9,765 ft. The median is published rather than the mean, because a single mis-keyed depth moves a mean and cannot move a median.

When they were last completed

Last completion by decade, 9 of 9 wells, Sep 2023 – Oct 2023. This is the LAST completion filed on each wellbore, not the first — a well recompleted in 2019 counts once, in the 2010s.

Completions filed
Sep 2023 – Oct 2023
9 of 9 wells

9 wells

42-329456240313AH9,362 ftOct 2023——
42-329456260304BH9,765 ftOct 2023——
42-329456250324SH8,762 ftOct 2023——
42-329456300315AH9,295 ftSep 2023——
42-329456270314AH9,305 ftSep 2023——
42-329456310326SH8,730 ftSep 2023——
42-329456320306BH9,716 ftSep 2023——
42-329456290305BH9,734 ftSep 2023——
42-329456280325SH8,702 ftSep 2023——

The API number is the state's, prefixed 42 for Texas. A well is matched to this lease by the lease key the Commission files on the wellbore record, so a well that has moved between leases appears under each one it was filed against.

Leases whose centres are nearest (467)

Ranked by the distance between lease centres, within 5 miles. A lease has no coordinate the state files — each centre is the mean of that lease's own wells, so this measures how far apart two centres are and not whether the two leases touch.

LeaseOperatorCentres apart
ATKINS 15-10A-FPIONEER NATURAL RES. USA, INC.0.05 mi
ATKINS 15-10A-EPIONEER NATURAL RES. USA, INC.0.12 mi
ATKINS 15-10A-HPIONEER NATURAL RES. USA, INC.0.23 mi
ELEANOR 2DCHEVRON U. S. A. INC.0.46 mi
COWDEN 39-03 WEST UNITXTO ENERGY INC.0.48 mi
BARWESTCLR SECONDARY RECOVERY, LLC0.48 mi
BARRETT "86"PARSLEY ENERGY OPERATIONS, LLC0.49 mi
ATKINSPARSLEY ENERGY OPERATIONS, LLC0.51 mi
ATKINS 47-02 UNIT 1XTO ENERGY INC.0.56 mi
ATKINS 14 AND 11PIONEER NATURAL RES. USA, INC.0.65 mi

The 10 nearest are listed. 467 leases in all have a centre within 5 miles of this one.

Operators who reported on those leases

Taken from the same 5-mile set above. This is who filed production, not who holds acreage — the state publishes no acreage register.

Every month this lease reported (33)

Volume × price = value, one row per cycle. The price columns are the same series published on the prices page — nothing here is modelled.

33 months

May 202633,524238,149106.413.05$4,292,653
Apr 202633,568223,67998.932.87$3,962,778
Mar 202632,664216,01789.753.15$3,611,927
Feb 202628,746187,65763.503.75$2,529,145
Jan 202631,618203,15759.138.00$3,494,406
Dec 202539,451233,27856.664.41$3,264,833
Nov 202538,855220,24558.593.93$3,141,293
Oct 202544,544236,84759.383.30$3,427,764
Sep 202542,214222,94362.743.08$3,334,484
Aug 202546,962234,80363.933.01$3,710,155
Jul 202544,828236,74366.743.32$3,776,671
Jun 202547,269265,01166.483.13$3,971,588
May 202554,533277,84760.553.23$4,200,064
Apr 202559,341196,99562.363.54$4,398,482
Mar 202549,056138,69167.704.27$3,913,069
Feb 202559,880250,25870.884.34$5,330,624
Jan 202559,631320,90074.324.28$5,804,804
Dec 202466,674363,34968.993.12$5,733,986
Nov 202469,135339,24769.052.20$5,519,586
Oct 202478,180378,44571.372.28$6,443,091
Sep 202483,708378,08769.612.36$6,720,848
Aug 202489,591390,07875.632.06$7,580,744
Jul 202497,300394,81179.932.15$8,624,686
Jun 2024108,480404,83678.082.63$9,536,448
May 2024126,853398,90678.812.20$10,874,256
Apr 2024124,555365,38984.451.66$11,124,923
Mar 2024152,245370,45180.301.55$12,797,668
Feb 2024167,346408,20576.091.78$13,461,448
Jan 2024209,022427,06773.023.30$16,671,108
Dec 2023241,592350,88771.262.61$18,131,914
Nov 2023279,635335,78877.892.81$22,723,515
Oct 2023304,775361,08485.443.09$27,154,743
Sep 202368,45683,69189.042.74$6,324,220

How to read this page

The arithmetic is one multiplication per stream per month. Here it is, worked, on a real row from the table above.

May 2026 — as filed, then multipliedworked
Oil               33,524 bbl  × $106.41 = $3,567,289
Casinghead gas   238,149 Mcf  × $  3.05 =   $725,364

────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Month total                               $4,292,653

The volumes are the state's, unchanged

Every barrel and every Mcf on this page is a number the Railroad Commission of Texas published in its monthly production query. Nothing is modelled, estimated or filled in.

The dollars are a multiplication, not a valuation

Volume × a published monthly price. It is not what the operator was paid: it takes no account of a contract, a differential, a transportation deduction, or the share any one owner holds.

Oil and gas are priced differently

Oil is a Texas realisation — the crude oil first purchase price. Gas is a benchmark, because no free Texas wellhead gas series exists at any date. The prices page publishes the difference rather than correcting it away.

A lease is not a well

The state reports oil on lease and gas on well, and this page is the lease grain. 08/O/61416 is the state's own key, not one this site invented.