COWDEN 39-03 WEST UNIT

Operated by XTO ENERGY INC. (P-5 945936) in the SPRABERRY (TREND AREA) field. Every figure below is a volume the Railroad Commission published, multiplied by a monthly price you can check.

Oil lease lease 61552District 08Field 85280300OilCasinghead gasSaveExport
Value, all time
$276.2 M
Oct 2023 – May 2026
Value, last 12 filed months
$51.8 M
at the published price for each month
Months reported
32
no gaps in the span
Streams
2
oil, casinghead gas

The Railroad Commission's own record for the field this lease produces from, including the spacing rule that governs how close together its wells may be drilled.

These are facts about the field, not about this lease. The field holds 16,587 leases and 43,997 wells, and the rule below applies to all of them.

Discovered
1952-12-22
as the register files it
Field class
Oil and gas
the register's own label
Between wells
0 ft
minimum
From a lease line
330 ft
minimum

A drilling unit in this field needs at least 80 acres. The field rule took effect on 2018-02-13.

The Commission's schedule remark for this field reads: “SPRABERRY (TREND AREA) FIELD EFFECTIVE 10/1/2019.”

What this lease produced, and what it was worth

Oil and condensate are valued on the volume the state records as disposed of; gas and casinghead gas on the volume produced. They are different columns of different files, and the difference is not cosmetic.

StreamBasisVolumeValue
OilDisposition3,365,585 bbl$249,270,437
Casinghead gasProduction9,095,232 Mcf$26,964,643
Total$276,235,081

Wells on this lease (9)

Every wellbore the Railroad Commission records against this lease key, with the depth, the last completion and the plug date exactly as filed. A well with no plug date is not stated to be producing — the state files no such flag.

These wells centre on 31.6314, -101.9786. A lease has no coordinate of its own — that point is the mean of its wells, and they span 0.3 miles.

31.63144, -101.97849 · centre of the wells drawn, derived

What these wells add up to

Every figure below is counted over all of this lease's wells, not over the rows listed above. The Railroad Commission files two facts about a well's state — a plug date and a proration-schedule flag — and a well can carry both, so they are published as separate counts and never merged into a status.

On the schedule
0.0%
0 of 9 wells
With a plug date
0.0%
0 of 9 wells
Median depth
9,294 ft
9 wells filed one
Completion to plug
—
no well filed both dates

What the state filed about each well

On the RRC proration schedule
00.0%
A plug date is filed
00.0%
BothOn the schedule and plugged. Neither fact cancels the other.
00.0%
NeitherNo plug date, and not on the schedule.
9100.0%

A plug date is the date the Commission recorded the wellbore as sealed with cement and abandoned. It is the only end-of-life fact Texas files. There is no "active" flag on a well, so this page does not print one — a well with no plug date is not stated to be producing.

How deep they were drilled

Total depth in feet, 9 of 9 wells. Median 9,294 ft, with the middle half between 8,727 and 9,716 ft; the shallowest is 8,218 ft and the deepest 9,751 ft. The median is published rather than the mean, because a single mis-keyed depth moves a mean and cannot move a median.

When they were last completed

Last completion by decade, 9 of 9 wells, Oct 2023 – Dec 2023. This is the LAST completion filed on each wellbore, not the first — a well recompleted in 2019 counts once, in the 2010s.

Completions filed
Oct 2023 – Dec 2023
9 of 9 wells

9 wells

42-329456640301BH9,716 ftDec 2023——
42-329456650311AH9,294 ftDec 2023——
42-329456780302BH9,728 ftNov 2023——
42-329456660331SH8,218 ftNov 2023——
42-329456630321SH8,797 ftNov 2023——
42-329456770322SH8,727 ftNov 2023——
42-329456850312AH9,299 ftOct 2023——
42-329456860323SH8,717 ftOct 2023——
42-329456870303BH9,751 ftOct 2023——

The API number is the state's, prefixed 42 for Texas. A well is matched to this lease by the lease key the Commission files on the wellbore record, so a well that has moved between leases appears under each one it was filed against.

Leases whose centres are nearest (490)

Ranked by the distance between lease centres, within 5 miles. A lease has no coordinate the state files — each centre is the mean of that lease's own wells, so this measures how far apart two centres are and not whether the two leases touch.

LeaseOperatorCentres apart
ATKINS 15-10A-EPIONEER NATURAL RES. USA, INC.0.36 mi
ATKINS BCHEVRON MIDCONTINENT, L.P.0.38 mi
COWDEN 39-03 EAST UNITXTO ENERGY INC.0.48 mi
ATKINSPARSLEY ENERGY OPERATIONS, LLC0.52 mi
ATKINS 15-10A-FPIONEER NATURAL RES. USA, INC.0.52 mi
ATKINS 10APARSLEY ENERGY OPERATIONS, LLC0.69 mi
BARWESTCLR SECONDARY RECOVERY, LLC0.70 mi
ATKINS 15-10A-HPIONEER NATURAL RES. USA, INC.0.70 mi
ATKINS 10APIONEER NATURAL RES. USA, INC.0.78 mi
ELEANOR 2DCHEVRON U. S. A. INC.0.92 mi

The 10 nearest are listed. 490 leases in all have a centre within 5 miles of this one.

Operators who reported on those leases

Taken from the same 5-mile set above. This is who filed production, not who holds acreage — the state publishes no acreage register.

Every month this lease reported (32)

Volume × price = value, one row per cycle. The price columns are the same series published on the prices page — nothing here is modelled.

32 months

May 202640,038220,131106.413.05$4,930,927
Apr 202637,678205,22398.932.87$4,316,417
Mar 202646,050232,09389.753.15$4,863,950
Feb 202636,077183,95163.503.75$2,980,765
Jan 202647,304274,39559.138.00$4,991,675
Dec 202551,843277,55056.664.41$4,162,352
Nov 202556,533261,32358.593.93$4,338,338
Oct 202555,672236,57859.383.30$4,087,656
Sep 202557,520212,74162.743.08$4,263,392
Aug 202565,337209,62663.933.01$4,808,966
Jul 202562,252181,39466.743.32$4,756,056
Jun 202541,988148,59366.483.13$3,256,268
May 202546,802193,30760.553.23$3,458,691
Apr 202570,198177,17862.363.54$5,005,310
Mar 202554,135116,65567.704.27$4,162,860
Feb 202561,321227,38670.884.34$5,333,479
Jan 202572,544333,03774.324.28$6,816,429
Dec 202484,879363,62368.993.12$6,990,804
Nov 202487,596372,59269.052.20$6,867,625
Oct 202495,909411,87171.372.28$7,784,668
Sep 2024113,479375,91169.612.36$8,788,062
Aug 2024109,783379,92575.632.06$9,086,913
Jul 2024127,800431,06679.932.15$11,140,376
Jun 2024138,835415,97378.082.63$11,935,901
May 2024154,515365,69178.812.20$12,981,277
Apr 2024175,875436,36084.451.66$15,576,652
Mar 2024218,428409,99480.301.55$18,173,262
Feb 2024236,103366,23076.091.78$18,618,300
Jan 2024289,816344,12073.023.30$22,297,155
Dec 2023350,490412,46971.262.61$26,052,758
Nov 2023177,395195,83177.892.81$14,367,104
Oct 2023101,390122,41585.443.09$9,040,691

How to read this page

The arithmetic is one multiplication per stream per month. Here it is, worked, on a real row from the table above.

May 2026 — as filed, then multipliedworked
Oil               40,038 bbl  × $106.41 = $4,260,444
Casinghead gas   220,131 Mcf  × $  3.05 =   $670,484

────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Month total                               $4,930,927

The volumes are the state's, unchanged

Every barrel and every Mcf on this page is a number the Railroad Commission of Texas published in its monthly production query. Nothing is modelled, estimated or filled in.

The dollars are a multiplication, not a valuation

Volume × a published monthly price. It is not what the operator was paid: it takes no account of a contract, a differential, a transportation deduction, or the share any one owner holds.

Oil and gas are priced differently

Oil is a Texas realisation — the crude oil first purchase price. Gas is a benchmark, because no free Texas wellhead gas series exists at any date. The prices page publishes the difference rather than correcting it away.

A lease is not a well

The state reports oil on lease and gas on well, and this page is the lease grain. 08/O/61552 is the state's own key, not one this site invented.